View Sacred Heart School
Sacrament Program

In the Catholic Church, there are seven holy sacraments.  These sacraments are signs of grace from God.  They bear fruit in those who receive them and help Catholics continually grow in holiness.
The seven sacraments are:

·        Baptism(Christening)

·        Penance(Confession)

·        Holy Eucharist(Holy Communion)

·        Confirmation

·        Holy Orders

·        Matrimony(Marriage)

·        Anointing of the Sick

The years when students experience Penance (2nd grade), First Holy Eucharist (3rd grade) and Confirmation (8th grade) are very special.  Students learn about the sacraments and have opportunities to experience growth in their faith.  While much of the learning happens in the classroom, the parents are the primary teachers of the child.  Each sacrament has a celebration and communal aspect as well.  While the sacramental education is received at school, it is hoped that the child will continue to practice the sacrament with their family (attending confession, receiving communion).
Catholics attending SHS receive their religious education in the classroom as they receive the sacraments of Penance, Holy Eucharist and Confirmation.  Catholic students who do not attend Catholic school attend CCD in order to learn about the sacraments.
Facebook Link
Twitter Link
     Sacred Heart School      235 Nevin Street      Lancaster, PA 17603-3491      (717) 393-8433
© Copyright. 2017. Sacred Heart School. All Rights Reserved. CMS created by eSchoolView
Quick-Edit Login